Whole Living Challenge: Week 3 Recap

It has been a little over five months since I completed the Whole Living Challenge and I still owe you my Week 3 Recap. I’ve actually had 90% of this post completed and sitting in my drafts all this time, but for whatever reason, I couldn’t bring myself to finish the final 10%. I almost discarded this post altogether, but I figure better late than never, so here it is.

Week 3 was tough. By this point, I was really starting to miss dairy, and meat, and sugar, and coffee, and wine, and pretty much every other food that was considered off-limits. To make matters worse, I broke the first cardinal rule of the Whole Living Challenge, and wasn’t prepared.  We didn’t manage to get to the grocery store until Tuesday afternoon, and the pickings were slim until then.

But, despite those speed bumps, I hung in there. Well, you’ll see I had a little slip up on Day 18, which happened to be Valentine’s Day, but let’s gloss over that. It was Day 19, that I truly fell off the wagon.

I mentioned in this post that I would be ending the challenge a day early due to my 30th birthday party on Saturday. The night before, we met my parents at a spot between our houses, about one and a half hours away, so they could watch Bug over the weekend. By the time the handoff occurred it was getting late so we stopped at at the first restaurant we saw, which happened to be an Uno’s. (Do you see where this is going?) Sure, I could have ordered a water and a salad, but did I? Oh no. Instead, I got a pomegranate margarita and ate two pieces of deep dish pizza.

Yeah. I go big or go home.

And that my friends is how the 2013 Whole Living Challenge came to an end.

You can see what I ate each day below. I still have one more post related to the Whole Living Challenge on the way with my final thoughts.

Day 15:
Breakfast: 2 Eggs Over Medium
Lunch: Mixed Greens with Baby Carrots, Radishes, Yellow Bell Peppers, & Sunflower Seeds
Dinner: Sautéed Vegetables in Olive Oil
Snacks: Banana & 1/2 an Apple with Peanut Butter

Day 16:
Breakfast: Mango-Banana-Coconut Water Smoothie
Lunch: Sautéed Vegetables in Olive Oil
Dinner: Roasted Red Pepper & Kale Frittata
Snacks: Clementine, Mixed Berries, Almonds, 1/2 an Apple with Peanut Butter, & 1/2 Mango-Banana-Coconut Water Smoothie

Day 17:
Breakfast: Antioxidant Smoothie
Lunch: Roasted Red Pepper & Kale Frittata
Dinner: Pan Seared Yellowtail Ahi Tuna with Steamed Cauliflower
Snacks: Clementine

Day 18:
Breakfast: Muesil Cereal
Lunch: Mixed Greens with Green Bell Peppers, Tomatoes, & Tofu
Dinner: Roasted Portobellos with Kale
Snacks: Clementine, Almonds, & 2 Cookies

Day 19:
Breakfast: Mixed Green Smoothie
Lunch: Roasted Portobellos with Edamame
Dinner: Pomegranate Margartia & 2 Slices of Numero Uno Deep Dish Pizza
Snacks: Mixed Berries

Leave a Reply

