Whole Living Challenge: Week 1 Recap

I survived Week 1 of the Whole Living Challenge! It actually wasn’t that bad, and while I experienced a few symptoms, including headaches and leg cramps, by the middle of the week I had more energy and felt lighter.

Another thing I noticed was that there were quite a few illnesses going around where we live. Between me working in a school, Jared working in a school, and Bug going to daycare, we usually bring everything home. I don’t know if it was a coincidence or not but I managed to not get sick and would even go as far to say that I felt healthier than I have all winter.

I stuck with my Week 1 plan pretty closely but did make a couple adjustments to the recipes so they were more attainable. For example, the Creamy Broccoli Soup called for something called Cleansing Broth. The comments convinced me it was too much time and effort for something that was essentially vegetable broth so I purchased organic vegetable broth at the grocery store instead.

You can see what I ate each day below. I also decided to include my workout if I exercised. How did the other Whole Living Challengers do? I’ll be back tomorrow with my plan for Week 2.

Day 1
Breakfast: Blueberry-Mint Smoothie
Lunch: Mixed Greens with Baby Carrots, Cucumber, & Yellow Bell Peppers
Dinner: Vegetable & Navy-Bean Stew (without potatoes)
Snacks: Clementine, Almonds, & Dried Apple Rings

Day 2
Breakfast: Blueberry-Mint Smoothie
Lunch: Vegetable & Navy-Bean Stew (without potatoes)
Dinner: Creamy Broccoli Soup
Snacks: Dried Apple Rings & a Clementine

Day 3
Breakfast: Mixed Green Smoothie
Lunch: Creamy Broccoli Soup
Dinner: Roasted Portobellos with Kale
Snacks: Almonds, Red Grapes, a Clementine, & Dried Apple Rings

Day 4
Breakfast: Mango-Coconut Water Smoothie
Lunch: Roasted Portobellos with Kale
Dinner: Mixed Greens with Alfalfa Sprouts, Baby Carrots, Cucumber, Grape Tomatoes, & Snap Peas
Snacks: Almonds, Red Grapes, 1/2 a Mixed Green Smoothie, Dried Apricots, & Sliced Banana dusted with Cinnamon

Day 5:
Breakfast: Mango-Coconut Water Smoothie
Lunch: Spinach, Strawberry, & Almond Salad
Dinner: Garbanzo Bean Vegetable Soup & Phoebe’s Greek Salad (without the feta)
Snacks: Dried Apricots & Sliced Banana dusted with Cinnamon

Note: This was my hardest day for resisting temptation. I went out to dinner with a group of friends, but thankfully the restaurant we chose (Baba Louie’s for those in my neck of the woods) has delicious soups and salads. Unfortunately, I later discovered that garbanzo beans are a legume which is technically not allowed during Week 1. I was disappointed but figure if that is the only time I broke the rules this week, that’s not too bad.

Day 6:
Brunch: Mixed Green Smoothie
Dinner: Spiced Butternut Squash & Apple Soup
Snacks: Almonds, Dried Apricots, 1/2 a Mixed Green Smoothie, & a Clementine
Exercise: 3 Sets of 15 Crunches, 15 Oblique Crunches (Right Side), 15 Oblique Crunches (Left Side), 15 Basic Glute Bridges, 15 Single Leg Glute Bridges (Right Side), 15 Single Leg Glute Bridges (Left Side), 10 Push Ups, & 10 Dips

Day 7:
Breakfast: Mixed Green Smoothie
Lunch: Spiced Butternut Squash & Apple Soup
Dinner: Sautéed Vegetables in Olive Oil
Snacks: Almonds, Dried Apricots, & 1/2 a Mixed Green Smoothie
Exercise: 3 Sets of 30 Sec. Plank, 30 Sec. One Arm Plank (Right Side), 30 Sec. One Arm Plank (Left Side), 15 Sec. Leg Lift, 10 Squats, 10 Lunges (Right Side), & 10 Lunges (Left Side)

Leave a Reply

