What’s in a name?

This post is part of my 30 During Thirty list. Read more about it here.

4. Officially change my last name.

I have a confession. Jared and I have been married for a little over five and a half years and I still haven’t officially changed my last name. I say officially because I have been referred to by my married name at work ever since the wedding but in pretty much every other capacity it’s still my maiden name.

I had a lot of reasons in the beginning for why I dragged my feet in changing it, which I won’t get into on here. Then, it honestly just became a result of pure laziness. I went this long without changing it, why do it now? Well, the arrival of Bug is why I’m doing it now.

After a little debate, Jared and I decided to give Bug his last name. I feel it is important for the three of us to have the same name so that is my incentive for doing it. I plan to hyphenate my name so I get the best of both worlds, keeping my maiden name and taking his, but we’ll still have that cohesion.

I wasn’t sure where to start so I found this list on The Knot. Do you have any other tips?

Leave a Reply

